Morocco Wins the Africa Pastry Cup

Morocco won the highest acknowledgement at the fourth edition of the African Pastry Cup, which took place on June, 29, in Marrakesh.

Eight teams composed of two pastry chefs, one chocolate specialist and one sugar specialist took part of the competition, from Algeria, Burkina-Faso, Côte d’Ivoire, Egypt, Ghana, Morocco, Senegal, and Tunisia.

The Moroccan team was the winner of the African Pastry Cup, followed by Egypt and Algeria, who came in second and third place, respectively. Morocco will participate to the Finale of the Coupe du Monde de la Pâtisserie. The Tunisian team obtained the “Wild Card” that allows the candidates to go to the Finale in Lyon, scheduled in January 2019 as part of the Sirha trade show.

In 2016, Morocco had also won the African Cup, Algeria was second and Tunisia third.

Ranking of the African Cup Teams: 

1MOROCCOAbderrahim NaitaliYassine LimajarredMohamed El Yazidi
2EGYPTAbdelmohsen AminMarzouk GenedySedhoum Aly
3ALGERIAYakoub Fouad MehenniBillel OuanesKahina Abed
4TUNISIAKooli RamouneBadri KaisHaithem Najjar
5SENEGALBrahima DiopIbra MbengueIbou Ciss
6GHANAEric Hilaire DouobaLilian AdzrakuVida Akoto Galenor
7BURKINA FASOAndre BayalaChristophe BazemoPuinigba Ouedraogo
8COTE D’IVOIRESerge Eric YepieRichard LobognonDiabate Vagondo

Coupe du Monde de Patisserie

The grand finale of the Coupe du Monde de la Pâtisserie is held every two years in Lyon (France), during Sirha Lyon, the International Hotel Catering & Food Trade Exhibition. The next Coupe du Monde de la Pâtisserie grand finale will take place on January, 27-28, 2019 when it will celebrate its 30th anniversary.

The African Cup winners will race during the World Finale at Sirha Trade Show.

Before the African competition, the European Pastry Cup took place on June 10, in the Oval Lingotto Fiere of Torino, Italy. After five hours of competition for this cup, Martin Morand and Jessica Sandberg were the designated winners.

Along with the African winners, 14 nations will race during the World Finale, scheduled during the Sirha Trade Show:

–           TOP five nations: Italy, Japan, South Korea, UK and USA are part of the Top 5 nations and are automatically qualified thanks to their past performance.

–           Four Latin American countries: Chile, Argentina, Mexico and Brazil continue the adventure after winning their ticket at the Copa Maya in April 2018 in Mexico City.

–           Five countries from Asia Pacific: Malaysia, Singapore, Australia, Taiwan and China earned their place during the Asian Pastry Cup last May in Singapore.

You might also like


Subscribe to our FREE NEWSLETTER and stay updated SUBSCRIBE

Privacy Preference Center

Strictly Necessary

These cookies are essential for websites built on Wordpress to perform their basic functions. These include those required to allow registered users to authenticate and perform account related functions.

wordpress_test_cookie, wordpress_{hash}, wordpress_logged_in_{hash}, wp-settings-{user_id}, wp_sharing_{id},gdpr[allowed_cookies],gdpr[consent_types]
_unam, _ga, _gid

Close your account?

Your account will be closed and all data will be permanently deleted and cannot be recovered. Are you sure?